Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Taunting - PVP vs PVE. What's known and what's desired.

Taunting - PVP vs PVE. What's known and what's desired.

So I'm still new to this game and something that interests me is how will taunting be used int his game. How will it differ from PVP vs PVE.

To get this rolling if someone that already has a firm understanding of this

From aocwiki.net/Tank

So was wondering how much will Hatred / Taunt differ from PVE to PVP?

How does Taunt effect a player vs how a Taunt effects a NPC/MOB?

Will a person / mob be able to resist a Taunt? 

If a Mob / Player is taunted can it be broken by another Mob / Player through an ability that can interrupt the taunt?

I am really curious on how this works and differs between PVE and PVP mechanics. My hopes are, that a system is created or already in place, where there is not much or no difference between how Taunt mechanics work between PVE and PVP. That the system in AI mechanics in PVE group rolls, work the same as the mechanics of rolls in class abilities in PVP.

Comments

• It looks like they are going with the pretty standard "threat" level and have renamed it "hate." So basically a PVE mob will concentrate its attacks on whoever has the highest hate. A taunt used by a tank generates a huge amount of hate, causing the mob to target them over others, however dps burst classes can pull the mob off of the tank by generating more hate at a faster rate than the tank.