Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Outnumbered

15 years ago I started playing mmorpgs.

I looked clips of players in the open world beating an enemy player of the same level/gear.

Some times a player would beat TWO enemy players of the same level/gear
Killing THREE enemies was impossible unless mobs get involved.
I would watch these videos and say this guy is good AT HIS CLASS.

I look at mmorpg PvP clips not and I see one player taking out 5-10 enemies of same level/gear and Im like... meh... broken combat.

Do we want this for AoC? Do we want a combat system in which meta can create massive differences?
Take a certwim class with a certain weapon and certain armor and certain skills and become unkillable due to great resource sustainability?
Wont this make build variety an illusion?

This is what I will be focusing on as soon as the tests reach that point.

What do you think?

Comments

• I can understand why you might think AOC might be heading down that route due to the footage showing players dying in just a few hits. I think the footage was taken from a scenario they set up to show their fast paced action combat where the players had lowered health and armor. I think when the characters are a little more durable it will be much more difficult to beat a 3 on 1 scenario. You're totally right if the combat at release is the same pace as the clips we have seen so far though.
  • ArchivedUserArchivedUser Guest
    edited September 2018