Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Server Architecture

ArchivedUserArchivedUser Guest
edited September 2018 in Ashes of Creation Design
Dear Devs,
I have been gaming since 1980 on my Atari 2600 console. I've seen a lot come and go. I already bought the $500.00 pre-order pack and am anxious to help stress test. One of the main things (outside of gameplay) that has negatively impacted a games health is server architecture. 
One of the best examples of this failing is Star Wars the old republic. Separate servers, people could have the same name as long as they're on different servers, and regular downtime for maintenance. People left certain servers for various reasons, some said the PVP was poorly designed. In fact it was, especially on the pvp server I started on. But, what happened was it snowballed leaving some servers empty, so when they merged the servers people like myself who pre-ordered the VIP game package ended up losing my account name with which I had built all my characters around to a level 12 new player who had taken it on my destination server...
I currently play Guild Wars 2, one of the best examples of the countless games I've played that has streamlined the server architecture. It doesn't matter which server you're on all maps populate from all servers, you'll never lose your name over a server merge (like I did in swtor), and in 6 years the game has NEVER been offline. Prior to their Heart of Thorns expansion release, there was a content drought, and it was the server architecture making sure no one was stranded on an empty server during the wait that kept the games momentum going forward.