Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

The Forbidden Hearth | Prologue

Disclaimer: This is my first attempt at a story in Ashes of Creation. I plan for this to be quite a series that portrays the background of my character. This will contain themes such as racism, sexism, swearing, and bloody details. If you are uncomfortable with this, please leave; otherwise--sit back, relax, and enjoy the Prologue of The Forbidden Hearth.

Verra: The Dangerous, yet beautiful haven of old and new; the shining symbol of resilience and prosperity. My name is Antonius Bui. The townsfolk said I came from nothing and became something--although I never believed that. I knew the truth in my heart that what I am should never have happened.

I dipped my pen into the ink well as I stared down at the loan parchment. I gazed upon the name that had annoyingly come across far too many times: Rhonald Kyne. I squinted my eyes with a light sigh.

I rolled up the parchment and stood up from my desk, resting my pen into the well of ink. I walked calmly across the offices until I stood in front of Thomas Lands. He looked up at me, then glared at the rolled up parchment I had gripped in my hand.

"Should I send a raven or just a blade?" Thomas said sarcastically.

"Rhonald Kyne is overdue on repaying his loan. Send word to him of his interest raising by 7 percent."

Thomas chortled at his remark, "Little steep, eh boss?"

Antonius crossed his arms, "He has done this to me too many times. Either he pays us back or don't bother with loans."

Thomas rested his chin on his fist, "You know, Samwell believes that he goes to the Seawitch's tavern and doesn't come out."

Antonius threw up his arms, "I don't need to listen to another one of Hiejm's prophecies to know that Rhon most likely lives in the damn place."