Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Texture Overhaul.... Character Texture Upres and environment model compexity.

I'm a texture artist from TV/Film... and their current face textures and models on AoC seem a little low res for our current capabilities. Using methods such as Texture XYZ... they could upres the look of character faces ten fold... and keep it modular enough to be applied across any face type (as long as they have a unified UV setup for the heads). Plus it wouldn't hurt the loading times/render rate nearly as much as you think if its a lower res texture file. Even more so if you wear a helmet which might turn off the head model anyway.

https://texturing.xyz/collections/multi-channel-faces

There also needs to be an upres in the hard surface models to compliment texture fidelity. In the alpha siege, the city models from what I've seen from the alpha (I know its an wip/alpha) are quite low poly. Our cities need to wow, and not be distracting simply due to bad graphics. Now a days we cant just rely on normal maps/color to make a brick wall look realistic-- there needs to be a certain amount of poly complexity on a rounded surface. Like I saw a city wall which literally was a box with four sides.... with a stone texture on it.

There really should be a model quality slider so that people stuck in the stone ages can play the game... but also give the gift of immersion to the games that have the system capable of next gen graphics. For me and likely many others, the overall look will make/break my willingness to play (since its not a stylized cartoon like WoW which kind of gets a free pass because of it).

Im super excited about this game.... but since we are few years away from it coming out.... the visuals will only look more dated as the years go by!

Comments

• DygzDygz Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One