Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Why isn't Combat firmly cemented as a feature for Ashes?

So, I'm relatively new to the Ashes Community but I have watched every single video on Ashes YouTube channel and also watched a lot of content from community members such as (Narc, Jahlon, Xillian, WolfFPS, etc.) and the one question that was gone through my head is, "Why hasn't Steven/Intrepid Studios made an official stance on combat?"

After watching Jahlon's latest video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IrBVYULfaM&t=575s&ab_channel=ParadoxGamingNetwork), he talks about if the studio or if Steven has 180'ed on Combat. Now, the way I watched Ashes of Creation on YouTube was backwards. Going from 2021 all the way to 2017. When combat was being talked about recently you would hear "hybrid" combat being said a lot. Going back throughout the years, you hear one thing or another almost flipflopping between philosophies of combat. Now the reason I believe in this company is really because of Steven and his direction of the game. You always has an answer to almost every question and the reason to why it is the way it is. Now, more than back in the day Steven also said that if a hybrid system doesn't work the way he wants it to than he will just do a tab target combat system. With a game that has so many old school MMO principles, why is the team wanting combat to be different?