Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

GMs and AoC, your thoughts?

The title is a bit wierd, but I just didnt know how else to do it :/ The thing is I've been wondering about this for a while, <strong>how do you see GMs in general and GMs in AoC?</strong>

Tbh I can't remember ever seeing a GM in all my time in MMOs (maybe once shortly in a smaller Korean one), so I'm not the most experienced person in these kinda things.<strong> That is why I ask you what do you want from a GM in general, and in what way do you think their function might differ in AoC compared to other MMOs?</strong> And do you want "community" GMs or "payroll" GMs (by payroll I mean people that are payed to both be the GM, do tickets, check forum etc., where as a community one would only do the game parts).

Although I have no real experience with GM in MMOs, I've still heard what they're supposed to do, and from various survival games I've learned alot about mods, admins etc. (which would probably be considered GM in other games).
For me GM's are there to moderate chat, get rid anything not within the PG etc. that sorta thing. But they're also there to host events, give out special items (cosmetic or the like), spawn special mobs. Basicly do the "random" events that can never truly feel random if you let a machine do it :)

As regard to who should be it: I'd say a mix? Some people need to have the time/knowledge to be GM all the time almost like a job "lead gms"? But some people that apply or the like, could be the lower-community GMs, I've done that in survival games before, its no problem if you're active in the game anyway (maybe you should be provided an alternative GM account ;) ).

<strong>So what do you think?</strong>

Comments