Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

I truly Hope there will be No Content Droughts

So many MMOs and so much potential, but once the developers release the base game, they spend half a year following it with something new. I have been playing WoW for 9 years, but once WLoD came out, the game went through extensive content droughts, which caused my entire guild to quit the whole game. Ashes looks like a beautiful game, and developing new content for it might be time consuming, so i suggest IS prepares for such a scenario. A scenario where developing new expansions takes more than a "Quarter" of a year.

Comments

• Options
    there will be dead periods for content between releases.. content isnt an add water and **poof** as we all know. but regular small content releases,(dungeons, etc) a few times a year and special events etc can fill in the gaps between larger expansions
  • Options
    there will be dead periods for content between releases.. content isnt an add water and **poof** as we all know. but regular small content releases,(dungeons, etc) a few times a year and special events etc can fill in the gaps between larger expansions
    Although how those dungeons are percieved will heavily depend on how unique they're. IF the game simply recycles the same formula for dungeons, meaning similar setup but different environment, then it won't keep most people interested. Subsequently, adding new content has to take longer. Simply put, because adding generic content to the game will not hold people's attention long enough, the developers will have to spend time developing more complex, and unique content. Subsequently, increasing the development time and adding more drought periods. So,  i don't think adding few things here and there will do anything to souk people's hunger.
  • Options