Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

How alive will the world feel?

I recently started playing Black Desert Online.  I was mostly drawn in by the combos and spell effects, but that doesn't make a game.  They did a great job at making the attacks seem as though they carry weight, even magic.

For me...there are many things that could make the game better, but, they chose static NPC camps, that respawn and respawn and respawn and respawn and, well, you get the idea.  This does not contribute to a living world that, I would imagine, future games should be able to produce.

Secondly, the combat is still against dumb AI, and it really does feel like a shooting gallery instead of an actual fight.  Even fights against other players has this feeling, which isn't good.  This can be fixed with programming that doesnt even require the AI to think about what to do next.  It can be fixed globally, for all combatants, players and AI alike.

Third problem is that nothing really changes.  Quest hubs exist, complete, move on, complete, move on etc etc.  Same crap as WoW.  Very disappointing.

The real MMOs of the future will have RTS incorporated at a grand scale, in a living world.  Kingdoms vs Kingdoms... territories, many AI controlled to counter those of players and prevent them from achieving complete dominance.  There can always be something to fight, the world can continually change.