Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

[Information] What does Pre-Alpha, Alpha and Beta really mean?

As a developer I am familiar with the meaning of Pre-alpha, Alpha and Beta, but it struck me that developers often use these terms without providing a full explanation of them. Developers, I'm about to break the mystique, so look away now :)

I liken the stages of software development to how an artist might create a work of art. First they may draw a rough sketch (Pre-Alpha), then over time add more detail and color (Alpha and Beta) until they arrive at a finished product (Release). 

Developers have learned over the years that the more people testing and providing feedback as the creative process evolves, the better the final product. 

1. Pre-Alpha refers to software that is not feature-complete and is not usually released to the public. Developers are usually still deciding on what features the software should have. Pre-alpha testing is mainly carried out in-house by the development team. This is the earliest stage of software development.

2. Alpha refers to early software that is stable enough to facilitate limited testing outside the core development team. Alpha software is usually not feature complete. 

3. Beta refers to more polished software that contains most of the major features, but is still not yet complete in its early iterations. Beta is the final major stage of testing before release and often involves a large player base so as to test the game systems under load and catch any bugs or performance issues that were missed in the alpha stage.

4. Release (sometimes also known as Live or production release) is the final product ready to be released to the public. The final release is typically chosen by the developers from a set of release candidates that are built after the beta stage.