Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Viewpoint from a fan after watching the 02/09 stream

Disclaimer: I'm very aware that the game is in pre-alpha. I would also ask more hotheaded and/or fanatic...fans to keep it civil.

Hey there, y'all! Even though I'm not very present here, I've been following AoC  since Jan/2017 and I'm currently one of the translators on the Brazilian fansite. I've been playing MMOs since 2003, and perhaps had a different experience than some of the folks looking forward to AoC when it comes to MMO gaming. Please consider what I've said and will say not as me rambling about myself but rather contextualizing what I've seen as an MMO player so that my viewpoints are solid.

Being from Brazil, the MMOs I played might have been different from those your typical american in the early-mid 2000s. I see people talking about games such as DAoC, Darkfall, Shadowbane, and SWG, which are games I had frankly never heard of at the peak of their success, and don't really wish to have played after seeing what they were like. Other than WoW, which spread like wildfire, my country always took to Asian MMOs rather than American ones. One of the very first to actually have servers in Brazil and present local payment and language options was Ragnarok Online, which opened the doors to a plethora of Asian MMOs that garnered a lot of success here (though they were rarely localized), such as MU and Lineage 2.