Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Question

Hello, I've been part of these forums for quite a while already, and one thing that keeps coming up when someone has concerns is the reply.

"It's still early Alpha, don't worry about it."

I'd like to preface that up until this point, I sort of agree with it being somewhat early.
However, I'm not a professional play-tester, nor am I knowledgeable about game development, and specifically its steps.

So my question is ( I hope) rather simple. When is it a good time to voice concerns about decisions? When would it be too late?

I'd really like to know, not only for AoC, but for possible future projects I may choose to be part of too.

Comments

• Options
    I always thought you were a friendly, helpful person. This reply is incredibly passive aggressive when reading between the lines. And it was totally uncalled for, shame on you.

Your premise and analogy work for food, but I can just as easily say twist it around. An example would be. I've eaten many things in my life. I've tried many things based on my past experience putting an orange between it doesn't work. I can say this with confidence, as a bun and orange they don't mix well in your mouth.

So, the entire part of your last post is just venting frustration. Luckily, within the rude reply did give an answer. 

As far as the answer is concerned, you'll just have to play and mash buttons is hardly a proper answer, as the vast majority won't get to playtest, not until much much later. Unless, like I did, you buy a pre-order package. At which point, sadly most people tend to be bias, often without realising it. I've been guilty of this myself in the past with games like Spore or TOR. There's actually a specific term for this that eludes me at this moment.