Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Player Driven Economy

DevorandomDevorandom Member, Leader of Men, Kickstarter, Alpha One
So I got kinda curious, based of a conversation in a different thread, about what the community thinks a Player Driven Economy is. I think it is just the Buying and Selling of items in the game world being done primarily through transactions between players. What do you guys think?
Screenshot_86.png

Comments

• AtliAtli Member, Warrior of Old
    edited April 2019
    So they have gone over this quite a bit. I think this LINK is the most comprehensive page regarding your question. they did say there will be NPCs that can sell your wares, that way you don't have to spend 14 hours going door to door like a shoe sales-person. (See player stalls)

That being said, when you're seeking a player driven economy as a developer, I think they are just going to create the tools needed to do anything you want in game. Undercut another competitor? Create monopolies? Steal from others? All of those means of nefarious capitalism are going to be implemented in game, or allowable. Now the consequences of such are another matter :wink: this is one element I've always been bored about with games, as the only thing you could do is find people selling crap in the global auction house for a cheaper price, buy it, then re-post it. This requires skill, to be sure, but also is very tedious and is only a single facet of a possibly rich and engaging game play mode.

I hope I can be good enough at stopping caravans to be hire able by these merchant lords.
    jgyClWy.jpg
  • DevorandomDevorandom Member, Leader of Men, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    edited April 2019
    @Atli I'm not asking as to how the economy in AoC is going to work. I'm familiar with that. I'm asking what people think defines a player Driven economy.