Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Flying In MMORPGs

Hey guys~! <3 I'm new to the MMORPG genre and would like to know everyone's take on flying. I haven't actually played an MMORPG but I feel like flying could be really awesome.

A command problem I've heard with flying is "It'll take away from scale, make all the world design artists work worthless"

I can agree with that, being able to fly over all the lovingly hand-crafted places and stuff would be a very big shame.
Although this is true I do believe that flying is a large part, I've seen the gliding mounts and I THINK in AoC that if you own a castle you get a flying dragon or something...? for a limited time..? Either way I wouldn't mind no flying, I just think it's a really cool thing to have in games. Being able to fly over the land and look at all the places you've been. I can also see a problem wherein everybodies up in the sky and the places below feel like a ghost land.

I'm not on one side or the other, I can understand reasons for both~! Just let me know your thoughts below <3<3<3

Thank you for sharing <3 ^-^
Poko.png

Comments

• Options
    AzryilAzryil Member, Leader of Men, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    Flying is a surefire way to kill an MMO, WoW being the most notable example. When everyone is able to fly the world feels empty. I've never personally been a huge fan of World PvP but random encounters with other players makes the world feel more alive.
    k2U15J3.png
  • Options
    Rem_Rem_ Member
    arzosah wrote: »
    Flying is a surefire way to kill an MMO, WoW being the most notable example. When everyone is able to fly the world feels empty. I've never personally been a huge fan of World PvP but random encounters with other players makes the world feel more alive.