Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Trying to stop DPS meters won't do anything

Comments

• Options
    VentharienVentharien Member, Alpha One, Adventurer
    leonerdo wrote: »
    This is interesting. It suggests to me that this is really just a debate between two kinds of player enjoyment. There are those who just want to play the game and learn by doing (aka trial and error), who rely mostly on their experience and practiced skills. And there are those who prefer to take a more meticulous/tedious approach, by planning and analyzing their gameplay with the help of data and graphs.

I don't think either way is better than the other. (I've enjoyed both playstyles myself, in different games/contexts.) But there is obviously friction when one type of player imposes their playstyle on others.

I've already made it clear that I hold a pro-combat tracker bias, so I think you could see where this is going: If both playstyles are equally valid, then why are people villainizing, and pushing for bans of, the number-crunching playstyle? To me, this is evidence that toxicity runs both ways. There are assholes inconsiderate people on both sides.

DPS meters aren't causing the problems, they just offer a clear marker between two playstyles (planning & analysis vs. practice & experience). It's just as easy to harass someone for poor DPS on a meter, as it is to harass someone for not moving quickly enough or using certain skills. Similarly, all of those can be valid criticisms (in the right context and using polite language). The only difference is that one of them uses data/numbers and the others use basic observations. So what's the point of banning the data/numbers, while the other type of criticism/harassment is left alone?

Toxicity comes from people, and how people talk to each other. Data/numbers are not the source of it.