Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Ball groups and other undesirable things

OkeydokeOkeydoke Member, Alpha One, Adventurer
Hey guys. I'm an mmo vet. Been playing them for 20+ years. Not sure if its ever been mentioned since I'm new here but just wanted to talk a little about ball groups.

Ball groups have been a pvp tactic in several mmos. In the mmos that they are prevalent in they're the meta really. Short version of what a ball group is is a group of anywhere from 8ish to 24, or even more, players that stay stacked up in a tight knit ball and maneuver around the pvp battlefield in that formation at all times.

The purpose is efficiency and taking advantage of aoe mechanics. The average ball group of say 16 players would be made up of maybe 10 aoe damage dealers, and 6 healers. Give or take a support class or two of some sort, varies based on the game in question.

In pvp the ball group runs around in sync at all times. The dps classes spam their aoe dps. The healers spam their aoe heals. And that's about it. A leader calls the shots and directs where this blob of players moves on the battlefield and what poor enemy player groups it crashes into.

The main experience I've had with it was in in ESO where it was really bad. There were even bot groups doing it. Like one guy multiboxing controlling 12+ different accounts. Not nearly as effective as 12 individual players in a ball group, but still something you had to avoid. I believe ball groups were an issue in Guild Wars 2 also, as well as other games. But its been a long time, I don't recall all the times I've seen it. ESO is just the most fresh on my mind.

So I'm just writing this hoping I really didn't need to write it at all. That maybe the devs already done thought about it and came up with a solution years ago. But if not, just to bring some attention to it.