Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Neckbeard Opinions

BrizzTvBrizzTv Member
edited July 2020 in General Discussion
I've been playing MMOs for over 10 years now and consider myself one of the unlucky, heavily addicted, no-life neckbeards that will have a lot to say about any new MMO. I've played just about every MMO that has hit the market since Final Fantasy 11 and Ashes of Creation has *almost* every aspect of a game that I would want. This game looks great. With what I've seen, I plan to play regardless of the end product, but here are my concerns for its longevity.

Combat. Action combat is the future. Fluid movement and fast paced pvp and pve can hook a player to a game more then any other kind of content. I will likely play for a couple months and then return to my favorite combat MMO once I start to miss the action. Look toward games like Black Desert(S), Terra(A),Blade and Soul(B+) and Elder Scrolls Online(B) for some of the best Action combat.

My other concern is player-to-player trading. While it is fantastic that there will be no pay to win within the cash shop, it can still very much exist outside of the game through real money transfer services. This means buying gold, buying items and buying power leveling services from other sites or players. This CAN AND WILL kill your game if it is not addressed quickly and proactively. Trading is going to be very important in Ashes, so this is probably the biggest issue I could see for the game.

Games like Archeage Unchained had a great non-p2w model on release but they did next to nothing about RMT and the game fell apart very quickly, even though they claimed that they were going to be on top of it. I truly hope Ashes will do better.

Thank you for your time, :smile:

BrizzTv

streaming daily @ https://twitch.tv/BrizzTv