Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

A thing from Everquest that could benefit Ashes of Creation

that was lost in MMORPGs since WoW, is Emergent Gameplay.
Let me try to explain... though english isn't my native langage and i'm not good at explaining stuff, so it might get clumsy but i'm willing to give it a try anyways.

about Emergent Gameplay :
A quick way to describe Emergent Gameplay would be rather simple : give players very few information and let them figure out how to do things.
It is the complete opposite of hand-guided gameplay, also known as theme-park.
This applies on every aspect of the game, not just combat / dps.

pros : as a player, it is extremely satisfying to figure things out. feelsgoodman
cons : players who just want to smash buttons like those guys who play tabletop RPG games only to roll dices, players who want to be a godlike farmer after 3 minutes play-testing their class, etc... will perform poorly and might end up being unsatisfied and quit.

One notable example of Emergent Gameplay from Everquest : the fight against the goddess Tunare

First, Everquest basic combats were mostly tank-and-spank, but raid bosses added spicy mechanisms that demanded players to find out strategies to take them down.
Second, most raid boss fight required a rotation of Clerics casting Complete Healing on the Main Tank because most highend boss would hit so hard they kill non-tanks in 1 round and tanks in 2-3 rounds, making switching Tanks very difficult, though not impossible, because Complete Healing has a 10-seconds casting time and you had to Land one on the Main Tank every 1-3 sec depending on which boss you were fighting.

Imagine fighting a 50-foot High Elf lady following these rules :