Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Server tags

I'm new to following AoC and still working through all the dev updates, AMA's, etc. so forgive me if this has been addressed before. There was an unofficial poll a while back probing interest in server types such as PvE, PvP, etc., including a casual type that limited the hours you were allowed to play per month. The idea was mostly met with dissent, but i wanted to revisit the casual server idea to hear more opinions. I don't agree with a hard limit on number of hours played, but I've been considering if it would be good to have official or community organized server tags around approximate hours played per week, not as a hard rule, but as a recommendation to get like-scheduled people together. The reason being is not to try to nullify competitve advantages that come with playing more, but rather because it seems like such a big focus of the game is giving the player influence over the world, if someone plays significantly less than the average player on the server, they could lose out on that fundamental aspect of the game. The pace of change in the world should reflect the average players time input so as to not be stale nor too chaotic, so I worry that for the casual player who puts in less time per week, it will feel as if they play in a dynamic world, but one in which they have little influence. Server tags could potentially attenuate this issue by homogenizing server populations around their average playtime and therefore making the rate of change of the world match the playtime of a greater percentage of the server's players. Anyway, I'm not convinced in either way if it's a good idea so I'd love to hear some more opinions.

Comments

• VmanGmanVmanGman Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One