Concerned that world bosses will become the same as the ones in Guild Wars 2

2»

Comments

• NoaaniNoaani Member, Intrepid Pack
    Debase wrote: »
    The bigger issue is that EQ2 failed on contested PVE in a PVP environment, which is a huge part of AOC's goal. The only encounters where this would really work were those that were trivially challenging from a PVE perspective such that you could actually defend against the attackers while also doing the raid content. Anything that was PVE challenging you pretty much had to sneak in the middle of the night to avoid PVP contest in order to complete.

I totally agree.

EQ2 didn't succeed in regards to contested content on PvP servers - though PvP was never a focus of that game, to be fair.

I've been saying for many years on these forums that actual PvE encounters, encounters that provide an actual challenge to players, that are able to be used as a step in a progression system, simply can not exist in an open world PvP setting.

The other thing I have been saying for just as long is that this isn't an issue.

A game like Ashes can - and should - have open world PvE content that are that basic tank and spank that encounters like EQ2's four Dominus encounters in RoK had, or like Archeages Red Dragon, or like almost anything in GW2, L2, BDO etc. Having these encounters is not a bad thing, even if they are simple. In a PvP setting, these encounters essentially fill the role of PvP objectives, and there is a lot of fun that can be had in relation to this type of content.

Then, as well as that, a game developer needs to implement an actual raid progression.

What you then have is open world content for players to fight over directly, and progression content for players to, well, progress through.

If you literally took EQ2's instanced raid content and dropped in in to Ashes without any additional changes, it would be out of place.