Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Is this the game for me?

Hi,
I'm new to Ashes of Creation, but have been doing my homework; reading the last 10 pages of posts posts (so far), watching videos by devs and content creators, and reading the Wiki. I am impressed by the level of community involvement and the openness of the development team. It gives me great hope for the game and that it will release sooner than later.

There are some aspect of the game that are very intriguing:

1) The Node System sounds like it can keep a world alive with dynamic content for a substantial time period without the need for endless expansions. They will also be bringing loads of opportunity in character development, even without traditional roleplay you will have a built in backstory as the world grows and you in it.

2) Housing=Citizenship is another way to tie your character to place. Other MMOs have used housing as an add-on, a place to store your stuff. AoC goes way beyond that traditional aspect. Your house is your connection to a place on the map and how the node fairs will impact your prosperity.

3) The Class system looks to be well thought out. Sticking to the “holy trinity” of the genre; tank, dps, and healer is, is in my mind a solid choice. The addition of the second archtype choice gives the player a means to customize a “toon” to their own style with the augment system. I look forward to more reveals so I can really start to hone in on what direction I will go.

4) Landscapes, architecture, and player races look realistic. They aren't cartoonish (if thats a word). The realism appeals to my senses. The fantasy aspects aren't overdone, they look like they belong in the world.