Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Arena Concept

Good day/night everyone!!! I have come here to state and discuss my opinion on how Arenas should work in Ashes of Creation. This is all just a concept and if you feel like you have a better idea in mind, feel free to comment! :smiley:

First things first, I am new to the MMO genre but Ashes of Creation has really caught my attention, and I can't wait to try out this game and see if it is fun and if I am into these types of games. I never had any real experience with MMOs so bear with me and please let me know if my ideas don't actually fit or is not great to be implemented in MMO games such as AoC.

One of the things I am really curious about is how does the PVP combat system feel like but for now, I will instead be focusing on the Arenas. After a bit of reading, it seems that Arena is an event where people fight against each other in groups or individually. If you win a match, you get arena points or something. The Arena concept is currently not being explored too much but I have conceptualized something that might be great and give more meaning to the Arenas.

In this concept, I am disregarding the potential addition of cross-server arena even though it can potentially happen. Anyway, my idea is having a Coliseum where the Arenas are held, that can be built in Militaristic nodes in the node stage of city or metropolis. Since I am not sure how much work it will take to upgrade the stage of a node, I'm not sure if either metropolis or city is the better option. I want Arenas to not be too common nor too rare. Whenever players enter the coliseum, they are teleported to the arena map which is completely separated from the original map. You can exit the arena server to return to the original map.

The arena server will encompass two areas. Outskirts and the actual Coliseum.