Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

In regards to microtransactions.

Hello.

I will start out by saying that no, I am not a supporter, I have not in any shape of form contributed to the money pile for the developement of this game. I am merely a MMO loving individual, who have taken interest in Ashes of Creation. I am not a qualified professional in any shape of form, I am but a positive realist, who desperately wants to enjoy a media that was once enjoyable when he was a kid.

Now, the post will probably be long and there will not be a TL:DR, as these concerns and points can not be made with a single statement. Or they can, but that would be diminishing the actual issues I am going to point out. If you really want to add a TL:DR which ignores every single point I am going to make, I will add one for you: "All microtransactions are bad, mmmkay?"

Microtransactions and business

The video game industry is a business, creating video games costs money, and thus it should be fully expected that a video game will be released as a luxury product which earns the developing studio or company a substantial revenue. Video games are a luxury, not a necessity.

In recent years we have seen an increase in a practice which was otherwise foreign to many of us, who have been gaming since the late 18's and early 20's. Microtransactions have surged, deemed a necessity by large gaming corporations although they really aren't. The idea that microtransactions is a necessity to keep a cost of 60 dollar on video games is ludicrous, especially when said corporations spend most money on advertising the game, than they now do for shipping the game; most of them no longer pay retailers and shipment of their products to said retailers, across lands and sea - keep that in mind.