Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Unreal Engine 5 in AOC?

Will Ashes of Creation use UE5? I'd love to see it in this game. It looks pretty awesome and a lot easier to use.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1ZnM7CH-v4[/video.]

Comments

• Options
    DygzDygz Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    No.
  • Options
    CypherCypher Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    Didn’t Intrepid say that while it’s unlikely, they will look into upgrading to UE5? I’m paraphrasing of course.
  • Options
    DygzDygz Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    image0.png
  • Options
    Well if they don't use it they should definitely try to copy pasta some of it, I am by no means a developer but that thing looks super convenient to use.
    5000x1000px_Sathrago_Commission_RavenJuu.jpg?ex=661327bf&is=6600b2bf&hm=e6652ad4fec65a6fe03abd2e8111482acb29206799f1a336b09f703d4ff33c8b&
    Commissioned at https://fiverr.com/ravenjuu
  • Options
    Key part is the “custom” engine changes. That’s kind of the difference from a game that works to one that doesn’t.
  • Options
    ConradConrad Member, Alpha One, Adventurer
    Key part is the “custom” engine changes. That’s kind of the difference from a game that works to one that doesn’t.

They did say that you can import UE4 projects into UE5. So it might be possible
  • Options
    Yes, if you create the whole project in UE4, you can import. Intrepid has written a boatload of code for at least the networking and multiplayer parts. All of that code would have to be tested and validated with UE5 before use.
    Just remember that the first few months of any software release is bug fixes, so we also don't want to add that issue to the Alpha testing that is about to happen.
  • Options
    CypherCypher Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One