Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Family Size, Artisan Profession Specialization, and Self-Sustaining Families

First, this is my first post after binge-reading and watching videos posted in News and I just want to say I'm so very excited about Ashes of Creation!! These are just some thoughts and please pardon any ignorance of game mechanics as I'm still learning.

After thinking about who I might create a family with and what we might do together, some things occurred to me.

**To help the discussion, I've made some assumptions.

Right now, with the published Artisan classes, assuming the ability to master up to 3 Professions, a single family could cover every Profession with just 7 people: 2 Gatherers, 1 Processor, 4 Crafters. Well under the maximum 8(9) family member cap.

This creates what I'll call a "Self-Sustaining" Family: a family that can rely solely on itself for every type of end game crafting need. This family could hypothetically never visit the market for raw materials, processed materials, or end-game crafted items. (This does not mean that all blueprints and high-end materials can be acquired without raids and groups, simply that they could process and craft it as a small family).

If we assume that there are quite a few Professions missing, we might be able to create a list that looks something like this:
gx6lol0a7cdu.jpg

In this hypothetical list, the "known" professions are in blue and I've included hypothetical professions that match every Gathering profession. Remember that this is just a hypothesis, not necessarily a suggestion.

In this scenario, a single family would need 10 people to be "Self-Sustaining", which is impossible. Therefore every family would need to venture into the market for materials or items to be purchased at some point.

There are pros and cons to each scenario.