Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Making crafting more realistic

darthadendarthaden Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One
For this I'm going to use weapon smithing as an example. My idea will incorporate 3 types of crafting xp, overall xp, weapon type, and material. To make things simple I'm going to base everything on a scale of 1 to 100

So I'm a brand new weaponsmith. For my very first craft I decided to make an Iron dagger. Being my very first craft I know absolutely nothing. I can expect the quality of my iron dagger to be extremely poor but I'll learn a lot. Item quality 1, all xp gained 100

My second craft I decide to make another iron dagger. While I'm still a complete noob in weapon smithing I at least know a few things I did wrong the first time around and don't make the same mistakes a second time Item quality 2, all xp gained 99.....repeat this same level of quality gain and xp drop all the way until item level reaches 100 and xp reaches 1. At this point I can make the finest quality iron daggers the world has ever seen

I decide to switch things up and craft a bronze hammer. My experience crafting iron daggers means I'm not a complete noob in weapon smithing but honestly how much will crafting iron daggers really help? I have no idea what the differences are between crafting with iron and bronze are. I have no idea how to properly balance the weight of a hammer. Once again my item level I create is 1 while the xp gains for bronze, hammer, and overall weapon smiting are 100. Since I'm not a complete weapon smith noob though I might get a few bonuses based on my overall weapon smith skills though so maybe the item level starts at say 10, weapon type and material xp has a bonus of 10%