Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

The success of this game will hinge on the player experience

Long-time listener, first-time caller. Been following AoC's development since December 2020, but this is my first time posting on these forums.

In the last Development update, Steven said something that I was overjoyed to hear regarding real money transactions (RMT) and bots:
  • “In games that I’ve played where the company or publisher does not enforce rules, it becomes the standard that you buy gold. If you want to be competitive. If you want to compete at the top tier levels in certain games and everyone’s buying gold, you almost have to buy the gold or you’re just not going to be able to compete with those people. And that’s a really shitty feeling to have.”
  • “In order for that not to be the case, it is the responsibility of the publisher or the developer (both) to make sure we have stringent practices from a customer service perspective to enforce our rules, and to make sure players are aware if they partake in this, there is a huge risk in doing so. It’s not going to be a slap on the hand. It’s not going to be we told you once, we told you twice, we told you three, four, five six times... ok we’re just taking some gold away, thank kind of thing. We have got to ensure that it is feared to do those things because you know that Ashes has active GMs, it has active customer service, it has an active community team.”
  • “From an enforcement, from a policy perspective, we need to be Johnny on the spot when it comes to botting or RMTing. Because the sanctity of player achievement within the game when valuing risk versus reward, those things have to accompany it or else it’s meaningless.”