Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

PvP and PvE gearing:

Hello, I am a relatively new supporter/backer of this game and have finally had enough abuse from Blizzard with the state of WoW (Specifically WoW classic as I have been playing it for 3 years).

What I wanted to talk about is the distinction between PvP and PvE gear and what I DONT want to see happen with this game; that is the clear distinction between PvP and PvE gearing with a PvP stat similar to resilience. I think vanilla wow's approach was ok with PvP gear having a bit more stamina than Raid gearing, but resilience as a stat in TBC and Wrath really ruined the PvP aspect of the game. I was never a gladiator, but I did manage to get to 2000 rating in TBC and I had all the best PvP gear each season.

Pretty much every MMO past WoW that I have played has copied wow with some sort of PvP stat and I find it to be immersion breaking, whether it was Rift, or New World as of late. I don't mind PvP being a gateway to good gear, but it has to be similar in power level to PvE gear. Two players one in PvE gear and one in PvP gear of the same item level should have an equal chance in a 1v1 where skill determines the winner. I dont mind there being minor stat differences, for example, a little more damage on the PvE gear and a little more health on the PvP gear, but I do not want to see a stat like resilience that becomes a must have in order to be competitive in PvP. In wow, it was so bad, that I couldn't even step into arena as a priest until I had a minimum of 300 resilience, with the only way of obtaining being strait PvP grinding.