Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

In-game ruler voting system

Arya_YesheArya_Yeshe Member
edited October 2022 in General Discussion
I watched Steven Sharif's interview and I liked this guy, because I liked him I would like to propose an in-game system I have been craving for many years from other games and no game developer develired it yet: voting and giving support to in-game rulers.

I will make it short:
In MMOs towns, cities, villages have their NPC rulers, I propose that the players who reside or do quests in that city could vote every six months on a new lord. Imagine the city would have 3-5 lords, each lord would propose a different tax rate, public services, how many guards, new buildings or infrastructure, wars, npc patrolling, new shops, pvp in the region, etc, anything. Examples:
* lord A 0% tax, no guards, no services, everywhere is pvp
* lord B 3% tax, guards, no services, pvp outside the city
* lord C 10% tax, guards, free repairs and ins, no pvp anywhere in the city our around it
* lord D 5% tax, guards for illegal engagements, pvp everywhere

Players would vote and if the support on a lord was massive then that would be the new lord and his rules would be applied on that city for 6 months. This means that each city would have a different setup, players would go live in the city they prefer.

If the dispute was almost even then players would have to fight a small civil war, let's say that each supporter could have at most 10 deaths and then that player would be off the civil war. After a week the war score would define the new ruler.

That's it, I don't know if such system fits Ashes of Creation, but I can see that Steven Sharif understands that better systems is what make games interesting.

Would be great hearind about this from the devs of even from Steven Sharif himself.

Regards,