Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

What can be done against the filthy bots

Hello, as a lot of MMO players I've had a lot of bad experiences with bots or players just using hacks to take advantage of the economy, sometimes to benefit their main character but also RMT.

So far the way Ashes of Creation is built is already really well done against botting. The fact that the whole world is a PvP zone, and any bot will be killable by any player, gives the possibility to players to already police around on their nodes to get rid of bots against a corruption, but it can be removed anyway. Steven also said there will be active GMs in servers looking out for them.

Will this be enough ?

It is never enough, first because botting is still too easy and even getting an "alt" account banned for botting isn't a major loss as the abuser would only lose the rest of the month as sub and the materials that were on it.

What more can be done than banning?

The fact that we'll need to equip tools to start harvesting materials is already a little expense that the bots owners need work for. However, a greater stop would be to push gatherers to acquire better equipment to be as efficient as a player, and this equipment should be hard to acquire. Either expensive to craft or tricky to acquire through quest lines. It could be a complete set of gatherer gear (Which Steven said it would go under our actual combat gear) that makes it stupid to play with the basic default one even for bots. In addition to reserve the rarest resources for high proficiency gatherers (such as end game ores could only be picked by max leveled miners) would ask a lot of commitment to the bots to be effective, and so a lot harder for them to be relevant compared to a regular player following the rules.