Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Side quests - mastering immersion

I wonder if AoC will have similar approach to side quests like Skyrim. Skyrim is a game I recently started playing and I am amazed by side quests. Why?
Because there are no indicators above npc head and you must explore every dialog, sometimes quest is hidden behind first dialog, sometimes behind last and there are multiple dialog options to choose, not leading to same answer/objective. Some npcs do not have quest and some do.
I would like intrepid to take same path to side quests.

What do you think?

Comments

• Options
    AzheraeAzherae Member, Alpha One, Adventurer
    I wonder if AoC will have similar approach to side quests like Skyrim. Skyrim is a game I recently started playing and I am amazed by side quests. Why?
    Because there are no indicators above npc head and you must explore every dialog, sometimes quest is hidden behind first dialog, sometimes behind last and there are multiple dialog options to choose, not leading to same answer/objective. Some npcs do not have quest and some do.
    I would like intrepid to take same path to side quests.

What do you think?

I don't agree that this has anything to do with what makes quests, particularly sidequests, immersive.

I have lots of opinions on exactly how that's done, the main thing is that so far, Ashes' writers are doing really good work and I just want them to keep going.

I could write essays and essays of praise on the tiny nuances that make good quest writing, almost all of which I am already seeing in the world. If they can keep up this quality, especially if they have the PRINCIPLES of it to show/teach to everyone on staff instead of just relying on a few writers with the skills...