Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Did I understand the point of killing the players?

Greetings to all!

Just a small question, in many MMORPG, the interest of the pvp (besides the pleasure) is to win various currencies to exchange for rewards, or titles.

I have no knowledge of similar mechanics in AoC. So, since the best equipment can be manufactured, I imagine that the PvP reward is the acquisition of the player’s resources eliminated, in order to manufacture the said equipment?

Comments

• Options
    NiKrNiKr Member
    Imo item drops is not the main goal of pvp. I think that mainly because flagging up decreases the amount of the stuff you'll drop on death. If Steven wanted everyone to just farm each other for mats, I doubt he'd go with that kind of design.

As I see it, pvp is there to just compete for the sources of those mats, be it mobs, bosses, quests or gatherables. If you get some mats from the dead player - great, that's a bonus, but I don't see it being the main goal.
  • Options
    VoxtriumVoxtrium Member
    edited May 2023
    PVP might be alittle more broad than that. Perhaps I want 2 economic nodes at level 6 so I can immediately sell my goods quickly and easily. Or perhaps the opposite I want to remove a 2nd economic node because Guild A is incessantly price gouging goods on the market and making a killing off it giving them too much overall power.
    Just that scenario alone would have PVP around it for weeks to setup the actual PVP of the siege itself.
  • Options
    NiKrNiKr Member
    Voxtrium wrote: »