Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Accessibility for old timers ?

DageraDagera Member
edited October 2023 in General Discussion
Hello,

I'm a software developer reaching my 40s that have played a lot of video games (especially MMOs). My hand are getting very injured ... :neutral:

It feels like MMOs are getting more and more demanding on the hands.

Example:
- In DaoC you could queue your spell and have a stick command to automatically follow the enemy
- In WoW Vanilla, there were a non-reduceable 1.5s GCD, and you had to take a drink break between pulls
- In WoW today, the GCD can come down to almost 1s, and when going to Mythic+ it's a almost continuous pull for the whole run (~30min) where you have to spam abilities from the 1st pull to the last boss

It's almost becoming a health hazard :disappointed:

I'm not asking for the game to become casual/easy, but to have alternative or mechanics to chill :
- Have a break between pull to have some rest
- Have a decent controller support to switch setting when grinding / exploring / gathering
- Have a minimum GCD (maybe not for all spells)
- Have a rotation where the main goal isn't spamming. Missing/being late on a GCD shouldn't be worst than casting the wrong spell
- Be able to have a more passive build that is less efficient but more chill, and make it not too hard to change it

PS: If you have any tips to take care of our hand / wrist it's welcome :smile:

Comments

• Options
    The good news is they don't want a twitch game either but the bad news is growing old sucks...
  • Options
    NerrorNerror Member, Alpha One, Adventurer
    So far I haven't seen them lean into the really fast paced twitch-based combat, nor do I get the feeling they plan to.