Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Lessons from WOW: Shadowlands that Ashes should be considering

XeegXeeg Member
edited December 2023 in General Discussion
I started playing WOW again (stopped at Panda expansion) when my buddy was trying to rekindle the good ole days. It was about midway through the Shadowlands expansion. There was a ton of content and we had alot of fun.

There were a few different systems that stacked player power:
  • The main class spec trees (sub/assa/outlaw rogue, etc.)
  • Covenant abilities (necrolord bone spike, etc.)
  • Covenant soulbind trees (increasing character ability power)
  • Player equipment (haste/crit/mastery)
  • Legendary items (greatly increasing the power of specific abilities)

When we joined, you could change your spec and covenant at will. Didn't like Sub rogue? Just click a button and choose outlaw, and redo your tree. Didn't like your covenant? Go to an NPC and ask them to change your covenant. Wanted to change from crit gear to haste gear? Click your saved gear set from haste to crit, or pvp haste or raid haste sets.

There still were some hurdles, for example you still had to farm half a new covenant to get your trees all the way down, which you only had to do once. You still had to farm the different gear slots and have them in your inventory in order to swap them. You still had to farm the legendaries, etc.

But the point was, other than your race and class (Orc Rogue) the other player power boosters were relatively easy to change and play around with.

Compare that to the start of Shadowlands. If you changed covenant you had to start all over from scratch. You could only change soulbind trees like once a day or something.