Thoughts and Suggestions from a 20 Years MMO Player

I’ve been playing MMOs for nearly 20 years and have played almost everything out there. I’ve spent some time thinking about what has kept me engaged with certain games and what has made me leave others. I’d like to share my thoughts and perhaps contribute in a small way to your development.

1. Explanations and Tutorials: One of the most important aspects of MMOs for me is clarity and explanation. If I’m playing a game or returning after a long break, I shouldn’t have to resort to YouTube to figure out how to do something. Reading long guides has always been a no-go for me. The best approach, in my opinion, is an in-game video explanation. In every window where you can perform an action, there should be a small question mark in the corner that offers a short and concise video explaining how it works.

2. Intuitive Item Farming: Farming items should be intuitive. If I need a specific item, it should be easy to find by clicking to see where it’s available and what level those areas are suited for. If I have to search through five YouTube videos to find the best guide, it really kills the fun for me. Additionally, it would be great to have the option to mark items I need and have them displayed as an overlay, like a quest window, showing how much I’ve already farmed. I’ve often needed 15 different items and had to constantly check where they were. This can be really exhausting. I’m sure that if you make this more streamlined, it will increase player retention. Players could log in, see what they want to accomplish that day, add it to their list, and farm it one by one. It’s a dream come true because it’s so satisfying to see and track your progress.