Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

AoC and Unreal engine 5

amulder17amulder17 Member, Warrior of Old, Kickstarter
With the announcement and preview of unreal engine 5 I was curious if it would have any impact on the development of the game. I think it would be beneficial to release a game on the newest platform available at the time; however, I am not sure of the difficulty with exporting to a new engine. What is the communities/developers opinion on it?

Comments

• GumdropsGumdrops Member, Explorer, Kickstarter
    It wouldnt be possible without more delays, so definitly a nogo.
    Reminder to stay on topic
  • NagashNagash Member, Leader of Men, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    I'm not a programmer so I have no place to say anything but most new things have there teething problems so I doubt it.
    nJ0vUSm.gif

The dead do not squabble as this land’s rulers do. The dead have no desires, petty jealousies or ambitions. A world of the dead is a world at peace
  • Wandering MistWandering Mist Moderator, Member, Founder, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    Intrepid have said they will be potentially looking into it, but I doubt it will happen. For one we have no idea when UE5 will become publicly available, and we have no idea what state it will be in when it launches. On top of that we don't know how easy it will be to transfer from UE4 to UE5. Sure they will likely use the same language (C++) but there is much more to it than just that.

I think it's much more likely that Ashes will release in UE4 and then upgrade to UE5 later down the line once the game and the new engine are stable.
    volunteer_moderator.gif
  • skearnzskearnz Member
    I think it's much more likely that Ashes will release in UE4 and then upgrade to UE5 later down the line once the game and the new engine are stable.

this would be most logical