Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

New to MMORPG’s; how do I prepare?

Hey everybody!

To start off, I am a complete newbie when it comes to MMORPG’s, only ever having played a few levels into WOW/Final Fantasy XIV before losing immersion/becoming outclassed/just not having fun with the world or systems. I love the role playing aspect of these games but found in terms of how I connect with the world/other players/how content is presented, I never really was wowed by the game.

AOC seems genuinely different and i’m super excited to start playing it, and i’m privileged enough to have been able to buy access to Alpha 2 and onward content, but I realize that compared to players who have played for literally over a decade in some instances, becoming competent at the genre/all these systems is going to take a while. While i’m not exactly looking to become a world class player right away, and I understand the development team wants the game to be structured in a way where it is going to be as friendly as possible to new players/casual players, I still want to be competent/knowledgeable enough to feel as if i’m making a substantial difference.