Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Cosmetic Packs

There seems to have been a gradual shift from the older classy awesome packs to the newer garish more wacky packs.

Is there any chance we can go back to the previous designers who gave us more of a high fantasy feel without having to go overboard on the wacky creature-mishmashes and the outlandish colourings?

If you take a look at the packs over the years, you can see the shift from classy and sleek to the newer weird and obscure: https://ashesofcreation.wiki/Pre-order_pack_history
This link may help you: https://ashesofcreation.wiki/

Comments

• Options
    KilionKilion Member
    Being a homebrew TTRPG writer, I can offer this thought to consider:

When I wrote the world, I first obviously had to lay a foundation which had a natural tendency of being more epic, hold greater, partially sinister truths. These events fundamentally shaped the world in which the campaigns take place. As such things surrounding the fundation blocks of the world also had a more serious and epic theme to them. Elements added later, especially characters and factions can be blissfully ignorant of all these things around them and by the nature of that ignorance look whacky and comicly out of place at times.

What I am saying is: Designs becoming less serious is - to a certain degree - natural, if only to not overload on the heavy mooded content of the game/campaign/story. Of course, that doesn't need to be the case, there was a discussion recently of Ashes maybe going more towards a "grim dark" theme, which also works for games like Dark Souls most prominently.