Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

2021 AoC Concerns

edited September 2021 in General Discussion
It's been a few years now and I am still seeing and hearing the same concern. My concern is so much of AoC is weighted on players being interested in PvP as the end game content. As a PvP lover myself, I understand after years of experience in MMOs, that it takes ALL types of players to make an MMO successful. The MMO can not class itself as PvP, PvE, or even PvX. It has to be an MMO for everyone. From the crafter, to the gather, to the raider, to the players who enjoy conflict. The MMO has to have something for everyone and a quality amount of content at launch.

The game seems to be far too focused on PvP. And aside from niche PvP games and EvE... All PvP focused MMORPGs have failed or at the very least been unsuccessful. Since I started playing MMOs in 1998 I have watched all except a few be successful. None of the successful MMOs was solely PvP focused.

A lot of us already see AoC as just ArcheAge 2.0 and that brings its concerns. But the main one being the lack of content outside of PvP. PvP is awesome, fun, and well needed. But it can't be everything for end-game content. ArcheAge crashed and burned in no small part to people just flat out getting bored of the constant conflicts, community toxicity, and lack of stuff to do. And I see all three with AoC, and it hasn't even been released yet.

I would encourage the Dev Team to make similar changes that New World has done now. New World started out as a trash PvP focused game. I Alpha tested it from the start. AGS kept asking us for feedback, listened, and make the big changes needed. New World is going to release now and be hugely successful. It's now a nice hybrid model of both PvP and PvE. It has something to do for ALL players. Not just those of us who want to PvP.