Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

Guild Gathering #4 - Team Building

2»

Comments

• ApogeeOrbitalApogeeOrbital Member, Alpha One, Adventurer
    This is a good question, but one I haven't thought of much before. I suppose this has changed a lot over time because my early years in MMOs were very different from later years. I started playing MMOs at about the height of UO's glory, but became really engrossed in them with EverQuest. My brother and I were both active duty military at the time and have never been stationed together. So we played EQ from different parts of the world in order to do something together. So originally, doing things outside of the game meant we did things apart.

Over the next few years, however, I found myself operating out of a few military bases in the Pacific and met people with whom we formed a guild. So the people I met and I were able to do things outside of the game, including sightseeing, movies, dinner, shopping, etc. It was really a good but short-lived time of about three years.

After that, I moved to Europe and shortly after that, WoW and EQ2 came out at about the same time. This divided the guild as we took different paths. I met some new folks who joined me in EQ2, and once again, we were able to sightsee, go to movies and dinner, shop, etc. ... And then I moved again.