Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

Raiding in AoC

Hi, I am Tarnish a PVE junkie who loves to Raid. I have Raided in WoW Classic/WOTLK/TBC/Cata/Legion. I also raided in SWOTR and ARK.I have also played a few MMO's, but they never stuck like WoW did.

When it comes to Raiding, I am all about it. I have been leading guilds big and small for 10 years and only recently stepped back because i am not seeing a game i feel passionately enough about raiding in to take the mantle of leading stead hardily. WoW has been slowly falling from grace and i have been sadly watching the game i once loved die in front of me. Hold me Steven.

A friend of mine told me about AoC and i have seen a ton that i found absolutely amazing. However, when it came to Raid content it appears 40 man has been the Raid size chosen. I figured i would post my experiences from leading large guilds with multiple 25m raids and 8-9 different 10m raid teams to the SWTOR raid teams with 2, 8-man raid teams.

Large Raids have a cool aesthetic feel. Leading an army wearing your banner charging in and attacking a boss. There is a different kind of enjoyment when commanding a 40-man raid (especially when they actually listen). However, you find that things tend to be sloppier because it is extremely hard to see specific players and mob mentality is much stronger. Recruitment is more difficult by how large the raid is. Larger the Raid either creates a larger bench or a larger 2nd raid team of the magnitude is yet again a bigger stress on making sure you have a leader who is actually able to lead his own 40 man and creating a process where it is worth it for that 2nd read team to be under your banner and to give players when Core Raid needs members. The Pro to large team size is generally you can run with less and it is not as dire as a smaller Raid team.