Carebear in a Harsh World

How to start this....

Yes, this will be about PvP and this Carebear's desire to avoid it as much as possible.  I'm not good at PvP, but I still want to play amazing MMOs, and some of them have open world PvP.  Some have optional PvP, some force you to be flagged in certain zones, and some leave you open to attack from literally everyone (including party members looking at you Lineage 2).

As I've been watching the videos, I've seen the focus on player driven content.  Economy, crafting, etc.  And that sparked an idea for how to provide some protection for CBs while also honoring the Four Pillars.

An item that is crafted by players, that can be sold on the markets, that will provide short, medium, and long duration protection from other players out in the world.  But with exceptions.

--General description--
This consumable item would prevent other players from being able to attack the protected player.  If the protected player initiates hostilities against another player, the protection is lost until the consumable item is used again.

--Duration--
The protection will not last forever, obviously.  Whether the  duration timer continues while the player is logged off is up to the devs, but I don't see any reason to pause its timer upon logging off.  Real life gets in the way sometimes, and if the timer has 20 minutes left and you have to go pick up Grandma at the airport, that would kinda suck to lose that 20 minutes because Grandma brought her delicious sugar cookies.

Short: 30 minutes to 2 hours
Medium: 1 hour to 4 hours
Long: 2 hours to 8 eight hours

The range of time would vary on the skill of the crafter making the item and/or the materials used.  Longer durations requiring higher skill and rarer ingredients.

--Exceptions--
This is the part that will ensure it honors the Four Pillars.