Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!

About mandatory PvP.

Comments

• DygzDygz Member, Braver of Worlds, Kickstarter, Alpha One
    I dunno how we can measure "very successful" when it's pretty much the first MMORPG.
    It's easy to be "very successful" with no competition.
    As soon as PvE servers became an option, those became to most popular servers for MMORPGs.
  • FerrymanFerryman Member
    edited June 2022
    Frost01 wrote: »
    Skribby wrote: »
    Forced PvP is the mmo killer. I've been playing mmo's for 20 years. Not a single fantasy based mmo has been able to do it.

Ultima Online was completely, mandatory PvP. It was very successful, player killers turned red and had to avoid town. If you died you dropped EVERYTHING. This worked well for years, then the game changed due to higher up decisions, killing off the risk with insurance, blessed items, and creating entire worlds where pvp was not allowed. It certainly didn't improve the game. Did you work hard for the thing you lost? Yes. That drives the need to become a better player with better skills and better strategy. It drives the need to continually go out and get more cool items.

Well it depends who you ask. PvP oriented players typically claims that Trammel ruined the game but that is not quite the truth. It might ruin the game from their point of view, however, if you ask this from PvE oriented players the answer is totally opposite. On top of that, Trammel actually became very popular very fast because there was not non-consensual PvP available. This is not a surprise because hardcore PvP is a really niche genre anyway. It is of course understandable that the changes did not make PvP players happy because they lost a good amount of prey. There was demand for PvE world and therefore, the game evolved more on that direction.