Greetings, glorious adventurers! If you're joining in our Alpha One spot testing, please follow the steps here to see all the latest test info on our forums and Discord!
Options

How to stop public 'toxic' in game game chat?

Comments

• Options
    What to do against bad behaviour? beat them up until they learned their lession.
  • Options
    Teyloune said:
    What to do against bad behaviour? beat them up until they learned their lession.
    Worked for my parents. I turned out ok.
  • Options
    I have been gaming for a great many years and I agree that the ignore function is a solid choice for handling chat. it can not be the game creators responsibility to police the chat, as then they get the slack from those members. 
    I do, however, wish to see that we can discuss and potentially avoid some things that I found were common in many MMOs that I have played. Muting almost all interactions with general chats or trade chats because of abuse from people is normal for a great deal of people. (Yes! There is a LOT of us, we are just not shouting about it so you do not know how many of us there are!) My ignore list must either be infinite, which does not solve the problem of muting someone every few mins of play, or the chats must not be necessary to be in even when it is just from time to time. It is beyond silly to think that any community, even good ones by MMO standards, are going to be able to stop trolls if the creators do not put a method to do so in place. Toxic chat is perpetuated by silly people that feed trolls, and that will never end. 
    ----------Incoming opinion, please dont base the above message on the following---
    I am not sure how the chats will work in ashes, but if there is a general chat, or server / world chat, I do not think just an ignore feature should be the only method for this. Alone, it has never been enough. Coupled with something, even small, like a moderator or honestly anything almost seems necessary. 
  • Options